Login

Register

Member List

RSS Feed

Amanda | Contact

Auguste | Contact

Jesse | Contact

Pam | Contact

Next entry: Potty-mouthed Bachmann launches another ‘Obama’s anti-American’ attack Previous entry: NC Republican Party unleashes anti-gay mailer targeting Dole opponent Kay Hagan

JoinRudy2012.com - and McCain’s body isn’t even cold yet

Does Rudy Giuliani know something we don’t know about the results on November 4? He’s starting his campaign—even asking for contributions—before Grampy Insane goes down in defeat. Via Political Base, a screen cap in case the JoinRudy2012.com hacks take it offline:

It’s an update of the JoinRudy2008 site, which you can see when you click on the privacy link. And here’s the contact page, also still under the 2008 domain:

Please direct any questions or comments to:
Rudy Giuliani Presidential Committee, Inc.
295 Greenwich St, #371
New York, NY 10007
212-835-9449
webteam@joinrudy2008.com
For media inquiries please call:
646-943-7890

 

------

Registration is now required! We're still in the process of getting it all squared away, so for the moment don't forget to Login or Register using the links in the upper left menu before starting to write your comment.

Posted by Pam Spaulding on 02:45 PM • (20) Comments

Looks like he’s learned from his experience as mayor that it’s good to plan ahead. Wish he’d learned that earlier.

Comment #1: Incertus, Nacho Daddy  on  10/23  at  02:51 PM

I think its a phishing scam.

Comment #2: Laureli  on  10/23  at  02:55 PM

Amusing, but most likely he’s just squatting the domain and pointing it back to his 2008 site. Notice it says 2008 on the page.

  Domain Name: JOINRUDY2012.COM
  Registrar: GODADDY.COM, INC.
  Whois Server: whois.godaddy.com
  Referral URL: http://registrar.godaddy.com
  [...]
  Updated Date: 10-nov-2007
  Creation Date: 06-feb-2007
  Expiration Date: 06-feb-2009

Comment #3: ian  on  10/23  at  02:56 PM

Ian beat me to it in the WHOIS race, but squatting on a domain does indicate some intent to use it at a future date. So apparently Rudy and his supporters lost all faith in McCain’s (or any other Republican’s) ability to win this year back in February of 2007, and re-affirmed that lack of faith 9 months later (just to be safe).

I’ll give this to Rudy: after learning the lesson of the command bunker’s placement, at least he’s started to plan ahead.

http://who.godaddy.com/WhoIsVerify.aspx?domain=joinrudy2012.com&prog_id=godaddy

Comment #4: Gracchus  on  10/23  at  03:01 PM

Or maybe they still have faith in J. Sidney 3!  They just don’t think he’s going to last out his term and think that they can take on the Sarracuda.

Comment #5: Caren-Sun-blocking Creator of Animorphic Pancakes  on  10/23  at  03:07 PM

There’s at least one Bush, one Romney, one Huckabee, and maybe a Palin who may disagree with Rudy about his prospects in 2012.

I wonder if we could build a Thunderdome just for the Republican primary in 2012.  Seems appropriate to me…

Comment #6: MikeEss  on  10/23  at  03:09 PM

Mike:

I wonder if we could build a Thunderdome just for the Republican primary in 2012. Seems appropriate to me…

If McCain wins, we’re going to be deciding all of our social and political issues in the Thunderdome.

Comment #7: Dan, Grand High Emperor of Bananas Foster  on  10/23  at  03:20 PM

I think its a phishing scam.

I’m inclined to agree - anything Rudy! actually had anything to do with would have at least one mention of 9/11.

Comment #8: SamFromUtah  on  10/23  at  03:43 PM

I wonder if we could build a Thunderdome just for the Republican primary in 2012.  Seems appropriate to me…

My only objection is the possibility that one of them would leave.

Comment #9: Watermelontail  on  10/23  at  05:00 PM

Be fair, he’ll probably have a new wife by then.

Comment #10: mythago  on  10/23  at  05:02 PM

Oh, to hell with Giuliani ... lets have a former NYC Mayor (by 2012) who actually was able to run the place without all the juicy fail and scandal that Rudy brought.

Unless Bloomberg gets Demoraptured into a cabinet position or something.  I’d dearly love to see him take over from Stephen Johnson at the EPA.

Comment #11: Ms Kate  on  10/23  at  05:26 PM

There isn’t even an ssl cert on the site. Phishing scam is my guess as well. Or just as plausible, GOP incompetence and they released the site before intended.

Comment #12: DanF  on  10/23  at  05:27 PM

So apparently Rudy and his supporters lost all faith in McCain’s (or any other Republican’s) ability to win this year back in February of 2007, and re-affirmed that lack of faith 9 months later (just to be safe).

Far more likely is that they assumed he would be running for re-election in 2012, and he might as well go ahead and register the site now.

Comment #13: Dweeze  on  10/23  at  06:12 PM

Far more likely is that they assumed he would be running for re-election in 2012, and he might as well go ahead and register the site now.

I can buy that. Still, weird that he has it pointing to the 08 site, and that the 08 site is up at all. A truly supportive Republican would forward both domains to McCain’s site, or at least to the RNC’s fundraising page. Then again, Rudy may not be able to afford a Web jockey anymore.

If, to our great misfortune, McCain wins this election, we can revisit the issue 5 months from now and see if they went to the trouble of renewing the domain.

Comment #14: Gracchus  on  10/23  at  06:34 PM

Why it isn’t real:

/home/james/Mail(gasherbrum):1-175> dig www.joinrudy2008.com

; <<>> DiG 9.2.4 <<>> www.joinrudy2008.com
;; global options:  printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 52445
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 2, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;www.joinrudy2008.com.      IN     A

;; ANSWER SECTION:
www.joinrudy2008.com.  3600   IN     A     64.20.231.77

;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
joinrudy2008.com.    156199 IN     NS     ns1.upstreamcommunications.com.
joinrudy2008.com.    156199 IN     NS     ns2.upstreamcommunications.com.

;; Query time: 74 msec
;; SERVER: 198.144.192.2#53(198.144.192.2)
;; WHEN: Thu Oct 23 17:11:31 2008
;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 113

/home/james/Mail(gasherbrum):1-176> ^2008^2012
dig www.joinrudy2012.com

; <<>> DiG 9.2.4 <<>> www.joinrudy2012.com
;; global options:  printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 49409
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 2, AUTHORITY: 2, ADDITIONAL: 2

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;www.joinrudy2012.com.      IN     A

;; ANSWER SECTION:
www.joinrudy2012.com.  3600   IN     CNAME   joinrudy2012.com.
joinrudy2012.com.    3600   IN     A     64.202.189.170

;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
joinrudy2012.com.    3600   IN     NS     ns35.domaincontrol.com.
joinrudy2012.com.    3600   IN     NS     ns36.domaincontrol.com.

;; ADDITIONAL SECTION:
ns35.domaincontrol.com. 140478 IN     A     216.69.185.18
ns36.domaincontrol.com. 140478 IN     A     208.109.255.18

;; Query time: 139 msec
;; SERVER: 198.144.192.2#53(198.144.192.2)
;; WHEN: Thu Oct 23 17:11:37 2008
;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 152


Two different sets of name servers, two different IP addresses, the first one in a net block owned by CoreNap, the second one in a netblock owned by godaddy as a hosted site.

joinrudy2012.com is almost certainly fraudulent.

Comment #15: James  on  10/23  at  09:13 PM

Not cold? McCain hasn’t even been unplugged yet.

Comment #16: Mr Furious  on  10/23  at  10:34 PM

They just can’t help themselves, can they?

Comment #17: Pesto  on  10/23  at  11:24 PM

joinrudy2012.com is almost certainly fraudulent.

Phishing?

Comment #18: Mnemosyne  on  10/23  at  11:36 PM

Giuliani’s spokeswoman has stated that the site is unauthorized and that a cease and desist letter has been sent.
http://blogs.wsj.com/washwire/2008/10/23/rudy-giuliani-in-2012-not-so-fast/

Comment #19: Dale  on  10/24  at  02:53 AM

That’s interesting. It’s pretty easy to point, though, to point your random domain at somebody else’s web site. I could register fuckmicrosoftrudely.com* and point it www.microsoft.com. If the victim was technically savvy, they could do something about it, but what are the odds that someone at Rudy’s campaign site knows what they’re doing?

It would be more difficult to do if the site was using host-based virtual hosts (i.e., many host names pointing to the same IP address). It’s still possible, although I’d have to give it a little more thought as to how you would do it.

* It turns out fuckmicrosoft.com is in use. It just comes up with that “you’ve got apache!” default page (which is better than my initial fear, a porn site featuring Microsoft executives, but still).

Comment #20: befuggled  on  10/24  at  11:21 AM
Page 1 of 1 pages
Commenting is not available in this channel entry.